The best way to ensure we are serving the transportation industry is to ask them about their biggest challenges. CAIT has ongoing dialogs with a wide range of stakeholders to keep in touch with their changing needs.

CAIT regularly seeks input from government agencies, industry professionals, academic researchers, and other partners we do business with and who serve on our advisory boards and committees. The broad, diverse experience of these seasoned pros provides multiple perspectives on current needs, future trends, and our stakeholders’ toughest issues. Listening to and acting on what they tell us is crucial in providing relevant, practical solutions to federal, regional, state, and local stakeholders.

CAIT Advisory Board

CAIT’s Advisory Board consists of representatives from our partners and sponsors: government agencies, industry leaders, and a spectrum of professional colleagues. They complement the center’s own expertise and keep us informed on the transportation industry’s climate and our customers’ needs. The board also serves as a regional think tank for acute transportation issues.

Advisory Board Representatives
  • Applied Research Associates, Inc.
  • Delaware River Port Authority
  • Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, Rutgers University
  • Federal Highway Administration–New Jersey Division
  • HNTB
  • Kimley-Horn
  • McLaren Engineering Group
  • Metropolitan Transportation Authority
  • Moffatt & Nichol
  • Mott McDonald
  • New Jersey Department of Transportation
  • New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety
  • New Jersey Turnpike Authority
  • New York State Department of Transportation
  • New York State Thruway Authority
  • NJ Transit
  • North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority
  • Parsons Brinckerhoff
  • Pennoni Associates Inc.
  • Port Authority of New York and New Jersey
  • Rutgers CAIT

Research Advisory Board (RAB)

Research Advisory Board members contribute input about the research needs of their affiliated agency, company, or institution and present preevaluated problem statements for consideration. Gathering input from this group helps ensure CAIT is addressing real and timely issues in the transportation sector.

Research Advisory Board Representatives

Leads from the USDOT Region 2 University Transportation Center consortium institutions compose the Research Advisory Board.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Ali Maher, CAIT Director and Professor
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Atlantic Cape Community College
James Taggart, Professor

Columbia University
Raimondo Betti, Professor
Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics

Cornell University
David P. Orr, Senior Extension Associate
Department of Biological and Environmental Engineering

New Jersey Institute of Technology
Matthew Bandelt, Assistant Professor
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico*
Héctor J. Cruzado, Ph.D., P.E., Professor and Department Head
Civil Engineering and Land Surveying

Princeton University
Branko Glišić, Associate Professor
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Rowan University
Rouzbeh Nazari, Associate Professor
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

SUNY–Farmingdale State College
Mostafa K. Ardakani, Assistant Professor
School of Engineering Technology

SUNY–University at Buffalo
Andrew Whittaker, Distinguished Professor
Department of Civil, Structural, and Environmental Engineering

Technology Transfer Advisory Board

With an emphasis on service, the Technology Transfer Advisory Board identifies means of delivering tangible benefits to the transportation community through outreach activities and technology transfer programs. The board includes representatives from government agencies, industry, and academia. Their feedback is combined with the recommendations of CAIT’s Research Advisory Board to develop the center’s annual work plan for technology transfer initiatives including:

  • Offering continuing and professional education and training programs and services
  • Creating, expanding, and strengthening partnerships
  • Developing new products, equipment, and processes
  • Serving as a clearinghouse for information
  • Publishing newsletter(s)
Technology Transfer Advisory Board Representatives
  • American Public Works Association
  • New Jersey Local Technical Assistance Program
  • Rutgers CAIT

Education Advisory Committee

The Education Advisory Committee consists of Rutgers researchers who use CAIT transportation research to enhance the learning process and develop a multidisciplinary program of academic classes. Members include engineering faculty on a rotating basis and CAIT leadership.

Education Advisory Committee Members

EAC members are chosen during the first semester of each academic year; names will be posted after they have accepted.

New Jersey Work Zone Safety Partnership Committee

The New Jersey Work Zone Safety Partnership Committee, an initiative of the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety, includes representatives from the New Jersey Local Technical Assistance Program and its partners.

Work Zone Safety Partnership Representatives

Federal Highway Administration
Ek Phomsavath
Hadi Pezeshki

Associated Contractors of New JerseyJill Schiff

Atlas FlasherChris Beach

Cherry Hill Police DepartmentJim Weist

South Brunswick Police Department
Gary Holsten

Construction and General Laborers Union, Local 172George Samuelsen

Crisdel Group Inc.Mickey Harris

Heavy and General Construction Laborers, Local 472                             Joseph Scerbo

Cedar Grove Police Department
Frank Pumphrey

New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development       Roger Frey

New Jersey Department of TransportationAntonio RizzoLee Steiner
Manar Alsharaa

New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic SafetyFrank Neary

Work Zone Contractors           Craig Cooper

New Jersey State Police    Frank Soos
Ryan Kauffmann
Charles Bowden

New Jersey Turnpike Authority
Cindy UrbanikLarry Lenahan

North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority Will Yarzab

Occupational Safety and Health AdministrationBrian Crain

Rutgers CAIT     Janet Leli
Ted GreenDave Maruca

South Jersey Transportation Authority     Jim Leslie
Dan Daugherty

U.S. Department of Labor   Danielle DiGironimo

Utility and Transportation Contractors Association Dan Neville

Chad O’Connor

* Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico is a minority serving institution